Welcome To

LIT PUB BOOKS

We want your best full-length prose manuscript (including, and not limited to: novels, novellas, memoirs, lyric essays, story collections, prose poems and/or flash fictions). Our open reading period is during June of every year. Prepare to submit!

community bookstore
  • 0
    books in your cart
  • $0.00
Image of Justin Armstrong's Wyomings

Coming Soon

Justin Armstrong's Wyomings

$14.95

WINNER OF THE LIT PUB'S 3RD ANNUAL PROSE CONTEST

A story of time-travel and undying love, Wyomings is a fiction that emerges from the author’s real-life fieldwork as a practicing anthropologist, from a life spent studying ghost towns, remote islands, haunted highways. In the tradition of Sebald, Borges, and Calvino, the author carves a carefully fractured and reassembled memory-scape about how, after a violent rupture in time, people’s ghosts arrived to erase them.

Wyomings is the rough assemblage and translation of the diaries and field notes of a narrator imprisoned in the refuge of bent loops of time, chasing a vanished love through an endless series of Befores, through a multiplicity of lives as time unravels and decays. The few who remembered what it was like in the last days were left with only fragments of fragments of memories, obscured and scratched. The last remnant of the Old Era, Wyomings is the story of dozens of tiny particles, solar systems of abandoned time, epistles to lives-once-lived and sunburned fables.

ADVANCE PRAISE

“There is this thing called ficto-criticism and then there is Justin Armstrong‘s ghostworld of the High Plains where Wyoming slides next to Freud’s Vienna or Kathleen Stewart‘s places on the side of the road as a new capital of dreams, ethnographic hauntings and recast memories.”
—Allen Shelton, author of Dreamworlds of Alabama

"Mapping a hallucinatory journey across time, space, memory, and emotion, Justin Armstrong creates a slipstream-dream--a jigsaw puzzle of imagination and ingenuity."
—N. J. Campbell, author of Found Audio

“A dreamy love poem spanning thousands of miles with enough darkness to keep it grounded and heartbreaking.”
—Shane Jones, author of Light Boxes

“This is what happens when you live inside a dream not knowing if you're the dreamer or the dreamed. When you don't know if you're trying to escape or go home. When you don't know if you're human or something adjacent, if you are chasing or being chased, if your memories are disappearing or being taken. This is what happens when you lose the lover you've loved through a million lifetimes. This is what happens when you try to find her. In these lushly landscaped dreams, Justin Armstrong ushers us through a story of grieving across time and space, across countless iterations of Wyomings. These pages plot an impossible escape from inevitable history. They chronicle foiled attempts to reconcile love and loss, and through meticulous imagery, they express the precise and painful ways we experience love.”
—Lena Bertone, author of Behind This Mirror